Posts Tagged ‘Nagurski Trophy’

2011 Bronco Nagurski Trophy Watch List

July 9th, 2011 No comments

All week long I have been giving you the preseason watch lists for the various awards that I am a proud voting member for and with each of these lists I was an integral part in the players that were selected. Yesterday the 2011 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List was released. The award goes to the nation’s best defensive player and the winner is selected by the Football Writers Association of America, which I am also a proud member of and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

This year 87 players make the list and every conference and Notre Dame are represented on the list that is pretty evenly divided among linemen, linebackers and defensive backs. Overall 12 players make the list for the second year in a row including Alabama S Mark Barron, TCU LB Tank Carder, Nebraska DT Jared Crick, Boston College LB Luke Kuechly and Notre Dame LB Manti Te’o.

By conference: SEC 19, ACC 14, Big Ten 10, Big 12 9, Pac-12 9, Big East 6, Conference USA 5, Mountain West 5, Independents 3, MAC 3, WAC 3, Sun Belt 1.

Here is the complete list. Read more…